CourtneyNicohle

Hippie > Hipster

n., pl., -pies.
A person who opposes and rejects many of the conventional standards and customs of society, especially one who advocates extreme liberalism in sociopolitical attitudes and lifestyles.

It seems to have become quite popular around my campus to wear thrifted clothing, smoke weed, and do yoga. Something I find to be more trendy than true to form, you know how something just picks up followers but the followers are indeed just following? I found an old HILLTOP lying around the architecture studio recently and it was from the very first week of school. There was one article that caught my attention in particular though, the one about being a “hipster”. I sat down to read it because I really wanted to know where all the rage had stemmed from. So I did and I laughed…a lot actually. Apparently anyone who has a unique style, tattoos, and says “fuck the world I do me” is now a new age hippie better known as a Hip-ster. Oooo they fancy, huh?

Thrifted Grey long-sleeve midriff, Thrifted woven belt, Thrifted multi patterned long skirt, Thrifted purple socks, Found cognac wristlet purse, and 1970s Vintage Denim Boot

People have been calling me a hippie for quite sometime and it took me awhile to fully embrace the title because let’s face it, I’m not white, I don’t look unkept,  and I’m nowhere near being a drug addict. But when I picked my own brain one day as I laid out on The Yard, I realized that one of the main principles of hippiedom (if that’s even a word lol) is fully embracing and accepting your own path and views, no one elses. I fit into some of the stereotypes I’m not going to lie but a hippie is me and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

The words that I live by: Live.Love.Laugh.Art.World Peace.

Peace and Blessings loves….Stay Flyy!

c.rob

Leave a Reply

