lesliecamille / Staying FLYY

Staying FLYY: Natural Hair

A few readers have asked for a post on what I do to care for my natural hair. Before I get started I would like to say that every journey is different and every head of hair different so what works for one may not work for another. I also cut all my hair off about three years ago and then decided two years ago to let it grow out. I did not do a BIG CHOP, I simply have just transitioned. Okay now for the good stuff!!

Normally I do a deep condition every week, I make the conditioner myself from a few products that I have around. This usually consists of two conditioners (Herbal Essences: Hello Hydration, Aussie: Moist, Say Yes to Carrots, etc) , a tablespoon of olive oil, jojoba oil (3) or avocado oil, and glycerin (5). The mixture of these products leaves my hair soft and easy to comb through. You should leave these on for at least 30 minutes or longer.

For styling, which I try to keep to a minimum, is usually just me throwing my head upside down and putting a hair band on. If on the off chance I decide to “do” something to do it, I like to use Shea Moisture products as I have seen the best results from them. I use to the Curl & Style hair milk (1)  frequently and the Curl Smoothie (2) on my ends, and Eco Styler  on the edges (4). Flat twists, two-strand twists, and bantu knots have worked best for me.

With natural hair I have come to understand that it is a lot of trial and error but once you find what works it can be awesome to finally know how beautiful your hair was underneath all the chemicals and heat damage. For me it has been a self-esteem builder and confidence booster. For 24 years I allowed my hair to control & dictate how I felt about myself on a day to day basis, but now I know God has blessed me with a great head of hair; I now have the tools to take care of it. Let me know if you all would like any more tips or information, I’d be glad to help!

Stay FLYY! Live FLYYER.

L.Camille

 

3 thoughts on “Staying FLYY: Natural Hair

  1. It’s taken me a while to figure out how to make my hair look the best, but once I figured it out it’s so easy to get it the way I want it to be! I really enjoyed reading this post. 🙂

    Btw, I’m hosting a jewelry giveaway on my blog and I would love it if you entered!

Leave a Reply

