Uncategorized

Second Time Around :: Thrifting Chronicles

My adoration for finding hidden gems has grown a lot over the past 4 years, so much so that I realized at least 80% of my closet was found at consignment shops. For some that may sound a bit farfetched or even hideous but if you don’t love thrifting yet, follow these chronicles and it may have you turning someone’s trash into treasure too.

If you remember here I was on the hunt for new sandals, platforms, and wedges for the spring and summer. The search was subtle, I never go into a second hand store with an exact picture or idea of what I want in mind. Why? Because chances are you might not find it and in the meantime you’ve skimmed over some pretty awesome things.

 

Exhibit A:

  • Quirky
  • Wooden Platform w/ Faux Snakeskin makeup
  • Peep Toe
  • $30

These gems were an accidental find at Buffalo Exchange in NYC. I was actually looking for a dress to wear to an upcoming banquet and had become overly bored with what I was finding. In line for the fitting room, I spotted them and was so excited when they fit.

Exhibit B:

  • Jeffrey Campbell
  • Über comfy
  • Neutral color
  • $17.95

If you’re like me, when you see J.Campbell Lita’s now you just yawn! I’m convinced everyone has a pair or at least a close knock-off. On a quest to find heels I discovered these Havana’s, they fit like a glove. The only con was one of the straps was broken, but I fixed it and now they’re good as new. LOVE.

So remember, thrifting is what you make it and where you find it. Try new places and don’t be afraid to get something drycleaned before you’re able to wear it or fix a little mishap. Your personal style is what you make it. And mine? Well mine is 100% makeshift, and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Stay FLYY.Live FLYYER.

xoxo

C. Rob

Leave a Reply

